Where You Need to Receive Your Disabled Parking Permit in Washington
As a disabled person, you need to reap all of the benefits available to you through your state. Checking each state’s rules and regulations regarding a handicap parking permit can be time consuming. Refer to your state’s licensing websites for questions, eligibility, and laws.
Washington State has similar guidelines for you to follow under the United States law for disabled persons. You should do some research to see if you qualify for your state programs for parking in accessible spaces and what you need to apply. Allow this directory to assist you on your application, procedures and qualifications for your parking permits.
How Do You Find the Washington Department of Licensing Offices?
Washington State may not be the largest state but does offer you easy access to its DOL offices. If you are visiting in person you should go to a location nearest you. Fortunately, there are Vehicle Licensing Offices to service you in every county.
- Grays Harbor
- San Juan
- Walla Walla
What Standards You Must Satisfy to Apply
As one of the harsher states, Washington has added different qualifications for you to meet. You will still be required to have a medical certification, but your physician must also provide a hand-written prescription for you to have a disabled parking permit. To be eligible:
- Your inability to walk without rest for 200 feet
- You have a chronic lung disease or need a portable oxygen tank
- You suffer from a Class III or Class IV cardiac disease (American Heart Association guidelines)
- Your walking is restricted and must have some device help
- You cannot be exposed to light for long periods of time
- Your mobility is compromised due to an arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition
- You have issues moving around due to auto emission sensitivity
All applications and forms can be found through the Washington Department of Licensing website and most applications can be submitted via webservices. You will need to scan and attach all extra documents that you must provide. Any fees assessed with the application for parking placards will also need to be paid.
What Category of Disabled Parking Placard Do You Fall Under?
Within the state, you are eligible for disabled parking placards, temporarily and permanently. Each category has a subcategory that your doctor may determine. All parking placards are issued according to your medical recommendation.
- Permanent Disabled License Plates
- Permanent Disabled Parking Tabs and Decals
- Temporary Parking Placards
If you apply for a disabled license plate, you must be sure that your vehicle’s registration is current, and your emissions test has passed. You will be assessed a fee of $32.75 to obtain a plate. If your application was submitted for parking placards, they are $5 each (excluding temporary, they are free) and you may request up to two parking placards. Additionally, you will receive a disabled parking decal.
To use your placards, you must hang it inside your vehicle on the rearview mirror. Your disabled parking decal can be placed on your license plate between the bolt holes. You are not required to use the parking decal
What You Need to Do After Receiving Your Permits
After being approved for disabled parking permits, you will receive them in the mail within 15 days. Your application will take between two weeks and eight weeks to completely process. There are a few important pieces of information you need to remember:
- Temporary placards are only valid up to a year, depending upon your medical certification. You will need to submit a new application, medical certification, and prescription to renew.
- Permanent parking placards are renewed every five-year period. You will receive a renewal form 45 days before your current expiration date. You must fill out and submit your renewal to the Department of Licensing. Check the website to see if your forms are available online.
- Permanent parking tabs and decals are valid up to one year and must be renewed with your vehicle registration, if applicable.
- Disabled parking plates are renewed every year with your vehicle registration. Just be informed of your emissions test, if your test is not valid, you may not renew your registration or plates
Other information you need to know regarding your disability parking permits include, any fees that you must pay are due at renewal, your expiration date keeps you valid for 30 days then you will need to submit a completely fresh application and medical recommendation. It’s always best that you keep track of your original copies of your parking placards. If they need to be surrendered, you must do so within ten days.
If you are in need of a replacement of your placards due to loss, theft, or damage, you will need to follow the same operating guide as renewing your placards.
What Additional Information Applies to a Disability Permit Holder?
Always keep your information up to date regarding your address, vehicle information, medical confirmation, and any other identifiable documents. After your disabled parking placards are issued, you will receive an Individual with Disabilities Parking Privilege ID card. You must carry this on your person at all times. You are required to show your ID if law enforcement asks you for it. Be mindful of all rules that are required of you as a disabled person.
Fines in excess of $5,000 and possible jail time may be awarded against you versus the State of Washington, if you are found to have committed a wrongdoing. Washington brings the hammer down on anyone impersonating the disabled to protect your rights.
Additionally, do not allow anyone to use or borrow your disabled parking placards or tabs. You could lose your right to reapply in the future and your current placards could be revoked. Only you as an applicant are allowed to use the parking placard.
What You Should Review
The Washington State Department of Licensing works diligently in serving you during your application process. The state has made accommodations for you as a disabled person to access a quicker version. Follow simple policies and laws to receive your handicap parking permits.