There are many reasons to get your Colorado disabled parking permit. Having a permit allows you to use disabled parking, and gives you the peace of mind of knowing that you will have accessible parking at your destination. Luckily, the process of applying for a disabled parking permit in Colorado is simple and inexpensive. If you’re looking for more information on how to get a disabled parking permit in Denver, read on to find out all you need to know!
Wondering what qualifies you for a handicap placard in Denver?
It is not only those who use a wheelchair who are granted disabled parking permits. There are several qualifying conditions for a handicap placard in Denver, including (but not limited to):
- Those who cannot walk more than 200 feet without needing a break
- Those who require a wheelchair, cane, prosthetic, etc.
- Those whose arterial oxygen tension is less than 60mm/hg at rest
- Those who need to use an oxygen apparatus
- Those who have a Class III or IV cardiac condition
- Those who have arthritis or another similar condition that limits their ability to walk for long distances
During the disabled parking application process in Denver, your application form will be certified under one of the following four categories, depending on your condition:
- Permanent disability (lifetime condition such as paralysis)
- Extended disability (doctor expects the condition to last more than 30 months)
- Temporary disability (doctor expects the condition to last less than 30 months)
- Short-term disability (90 days or less)
This will affect the type of disabled parking permit that you receive (long-term or short-term). Long-term permits are granted to those with illnesses or disabilities that will last a lifetime, or for any condition the doctor deems as qualifying for one. Short-term permits are granted for conditions that generally last under 90 days, such as a broken leg.
How To Get A Disabled Parking Permit In Denver
Wondering “How do I get a handicap parking permit in Denver?” Well, the application process is fairly simple. The first step is to go to your local Motor Vehicle Agency, to get the form labeled DR2219. You can also find this form online.
You must bring this form to your consultation with a physician. This consultation can often be done online via telemedicine, if this is an easier option for you. The physician must be licensed to practice medicine in the state of Colorado. Sometimes other medical professionals such as physical therapists may be able to certify an application, but this is almost always for a temporary permit application. In addition to the parts of the application form completed by you, you must get the physician’s certification.
Once you have your certified form, you can head back to your local DMV office to submit the application. You need to go in person in order to show some forms of identification in order to allow your application to be processed. You also need to present your vehicle’s details and license plates. It is important to bring all the necessary documentation at this stage so the process is as smooth as possible.
What are the Colorado handicap parking laws?
As in other states, you need a disabled parking permit in order to use reserved, accessible parking, be it a temporary or permanent permit. Your placard must be displayed clearly so that it is visible to any parking wardens. It must also not be used by others unless you are present as well. Failure to comply with either of these points could result in a fine.
Similarly, fines apply for those who falsely occupy disabled parking spaces, even if they have a visible ailment or disability (such as a cast on their leg). A permit is still required in cases like these in order to access disabled parking in Denver.
Disabled parking spaces are usually wider and have reserved spaces on either side for those who require a wheelchair lift to access the vehicle. They are located close to the entrance/exit points of buildings to reduce the distance you’ll have to walk.
Is handicap parking free in Denver?
Parking at a reserved handicap spot in an otherwise free lot won’t cost you a thing! However, many people with disabled parking permits still must pay for metered parking. The exception to this rule is those who a physician has deemed as having difficulty in paying at the parking meter, or who have a severe disability.